Cravings are kicking in but still holding strong

Home Page All Forums Day 14 – The Review Day & Bonus Solution Community Forum Cravings are kicking in but still holding strong

Tagged: 

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
2 years, 1 month ago.

• Author

Participant

I never really considered myself an alcoholic to be honest. As a software engineer, I spent my 20s dreaming how I would be a multimillionaire by the time I hit 30 with some app that I would build, have the body of a fitness athlete (i previously played professional baseball, so the work ethic is there), and have a beautiful wife. Well I hit 30 a month ago, and although I make a solid 6 figure income, have the ability to travel pretty much whenever I want and however long I want, I’m still a far ways away from my goals.

My finances have been stagnant for 3 years, I essentially maxed out as an employee. I have not been able to lose a single pound in 3 years due to my excessive drinking, despite working out 4-5 days/week. And although I have a great girlfriend, she’s not quite what I had in mind. My 20s consisted of drinking heavily on the weekends and moderately to heavy 2-3 days outside of that. I would also smoke weed once or twice a week which lead to eating a plethora of food.

Although I wouldn’t say drinking was ruining my life, I can 100% say that it was the sole purpose I was not able to accomplish my goals in my 20s. This is the first time since I started drinking as a teenager I’ve gone 2 full weeks without a sip and it feels great. This is the first time I feel I’m 100% committed to being sober, although I contemplate being a casual drinker after 30,60, or 90 days. I feel like things are going great, but the past two days have been a little though.