Day 11 limiting beliefs

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author

Participant

I woke up today and actually went to grab my phone believing I had drunk texted someone. I hadn’t even drank and chuckled at my knee jerk reaction. I am doing well and my new belief is that I can stay sober and happy, I graduated college with honors while working full time. This is possible! 🙂

Participant

Day 11! Wow, 2 intense days of soul-searching exercises. I love it, as it has been so helpful for me to look at what lies I have been telling myself and how incongruent I have been. My biggest challenge is seeing myself as a non-drinker. I can envision a moderate or healthy drinker, but not a non-drinker. I’m not sure if this is honest,accurate, or denial or ? I do know I have quit for a month before and can regulate my drinking when I am out in public. But can I ever be a moderate drinker?
    All I know, is I am doing the 30 days. It has been eye-opening to see the dysfunction and erosion of my true self as my drinking increased. So very sad.

I am grateful for programs like this and SMART recovery that focus on logic, science, free-will, and an individualized approach. I attended a 12 step program during my separation/divorce(COSA) and just never “got” the 12-step model-it didn’t resonate with me. I needed something tangible, rational, empowering. Thankfully, I found it here.

Participant

I’m curious how’s sobriety ? Have you went back to drinking ??

Participant

I am so amazed to discover these lies I have been telling myself and my false beliefs. It has been very enlightening to really examine them closely and see where they generate from and how false they are. I have sober friends who have lots of fun, energy and exciting lives, that I never even thought about before. It only helped me to realize my false beliefs and will help me to change my beliefs as I relate to their characteristics.