Envy

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
1 week, 4 days ago.

• Author

Participant

I put this out to the forum in the hope that someone might have an idea or ideas about how to neutralise this really negative emotion. I suppose envy has many variations, for me, I am a professional musician, I’m very good at it and I teach. I should be really content with my ability, but I get so jealous when I see those better than me or more active in their creative projects and concerts. Especially when they are close to my own ability, sometimes even those on my own level, or even not as good. I’m only happy if I’m clearly better or, strangely, clearly way off! It’s such a toxic, visceral gut feeling and it has held me back in so many ways. I’m ashamed of this feeling but I don’t know how to deal with it and there is little or no guidance out there on ideas for combatting this, or where it may stem from. Any thoughts? This program has me geed up for tackling things like this and ready to work on it but I honestly dont know how to!

Participant

Good morning Splendiferous.
    Congratulations on making it to Day 17!
    Thank you for your question and Topic. Your feelings of Envy ( like all Feelings, be they positive or negative) give you a window to examine your Unmet Needs. (Positive emotions arise in response to our Needs being Met)
    Because you are caught in “The Comparison Game “, you are holding up other’s accomplishments as a yardstick with which to measure your own.