Help

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
2 months, 4 weeks ago.

• Author

Participant

I was on day 6 and I totally blew it. I just finished off a bottle of wine. Away on a silent retreat and I sabotaged it. Feelings that are very hard and I numbed. I don’t want to be this way. Do I start over or use this fall as a teaching moment?

Participant

Hi Cholly,

I am on day 12 and you seem to be the only recent post in here (weird?)..old posts still help though. Sorry you feel bad about the slip. I know I read somewhere (or maybe on a video) that you carry one through a slip up, that is just part of your journey. Please don’t quit — this is also about you being compassionate with yourself– pretend you are counseling someone that this happened to. You would be supportive and encouraging right? That’s my biggest problem.
    I will be straight with you, I am not a problem drinker I just know I am going to get there if I don’t tackle this head one, my spouse drinks too much and I will be damned if I am going to let my kids live where alcohol is normalized to this level (how I grew up). I just have to get to my WHY and quit leaning into negative coping skills. But I am 100% in, you too right? If you want to chat again I’m here. I really like this program, it’s reprogramming me but I too, am getting stressed alittle with the action steps…I don’t want to drink I just sort of want to stop, but I won’t. Well,Cholly staty positive take care and love yourself (I imagine myself as an infant, that I hold in my arms and it may be weird, but as a Mom it really snaps be back into a determined place). I hoped to help sorry if it fell short.
    –R

Participant

Hi Cholly,

You went 6 whole days, that’s a lot in my opinion. Think of the successes and not the set backs. If you can go 6 days, you can go further. I know people that can’t (and won’t) even go 1 day without a drink.