New chapter

This topic contains 11 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
2 weeks, 2 days ago.

• Author

Participant

It has been about 15 years of drinking for me (some years worse than others.) I am a functioning alcohol abuser and drink after my workday is at done and primary at home. I can go from 0 to black out in about a bottle and a half of wine without the pleasure of a buzz in between. I am a b*tch when I drink and I feel like sh*t almost every morning. I have come to point of “what is the point?” Besides the fact that I am getting older and the toll of my toxic lifestyle is wearing on me. I look forward to this new chapter in my life. I just hope I’m not too late.

Participant

Its never too late for a new chapter. I know what you mean of 0 to black out , I experience the same. I have been drinking for many years too. Quite successfully also. I can keep it all together it’s kinda like herding cats, but I think I got it.
    Hang in there. Were worth it

Participant

Sounds very familiar and similar to me. However, things are beginning to catch up and crumble…. This is not what I want from my life, yet I still seem stuck on the idea that my life will be dull and boring without alcohol. Sadly, I think it already is….
    Hope you are finding success…..

Participant

Thanks for this post. I’m on day one and have owned the book over a year. Hearing you say, “sadly, it already is” was the wake up call I needed. Mine is very boring, too. I need to cut it out. I have so much going for me and being a high functioning alcohol abuser is really sad and such a waste. Looking forward to the 30 days ahead and am also very nervous I’ll figure out how to excuse myself.
      I have to do this. Last night my husband texted me “you’re drinking has become a problem!!!!” After he found me stumbling around the house after he had gone to bed. I feel disgusted with myself.

Participant